“Excuse me, can I ask whether you have a faith”?

Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 10.35.46 amMy friend and myself asked this question to randoms on the street.

The answers seemed to be stereo typical.

a. No, I’m not a believer, I need more scientific evidence

b. Yes, I pray sometimes when I really need help, but I don’t need to go to church

c. Yes, but there is alot of hypocrits in the church and they hurt people

d. If there was a faith, I’d take the best of all the religions out there

We never got into a full blown discussion, but here are some thoughts (in hindsight) on answering these assumptions:

a. You need more scientific experince eh? Interesting, can I ask how much research have you done on this issue? Because there is archeological evidence to back up some of the biblical accounts of history. Plus also, how can you explain the existence of humans if they just appeared without an intelligent creator?

b. Lovely that you pray for help. Why not start praying to God for little things, and try thanking Him instead of asking all the time. Maybe you might just get a little closer in your relationship with Him, rather than distant.

c. I’m sorry that you were hurt. Yes, there are alot of hypocrits in the church, there are also alot of hypocrits outside the church. Don’t let your bad experience rob you of engaging in God’s family. If you had a bad experience with a doctor, would that destroy your faith in medicine? Or maybe you should get a second opinion? Why not try another church?

d. You’d take the best of all religions out there? What would you take? If you are doing the designing, wouldn’t that logically conclude that you are making it up? That maybe you are not only making your own God, you are ultimately your own God?

These are just some thoughts, obviously these answers should be said in love. But with their eternity at stake, we’ve got nothing to lose and they have everything to gain.

About yvettewynne

Not gifted, just gutsy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment