Lonely People

lonely mother

I was chatting with a young mother who was new to the area. With just one child, and a husband who works long hours, she was looking for friends. Hearing her story, my heart went out to her. I had been in that place before, it was lonely and soul destroying.

With my own children grown up, my circle of friends would not meet her needs. So I suggested different places for her to connect into around the shire. Then an idea presented itself, something I had never thought of before.

Church. This would provide an instant family every time she moved, and she was going to move a lot. Without thinking too hard, brainwork is over rated, I blurt out my thoughts, “I don’t know where you are at with God, but if you become a believer, when you go to a church, you will meet your sisters. You will connect with them straight away, of course some people more than others, but you will find a place to meet people.”

She didn’t ‘frost over’ or recoil from my sudden topic change, she wanted to know whether it was like that for me.

When we are full of the Holy Spirit, He bubbles over and out our mouths. Our words can be a seed, that becomes life giving by bearing fruit.

Time will tell if this was one of those moments.

About yvettewynne

Not gifted, just gutsy
This entry was posted in Be a witness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment